## ANMS1452[429]

Title

People in an Antarctic landscape

Date 1955-1990

**Primary Maker** Fairfax Publications, Sydney Morning Herald

**Medium** Photographic print on paper

**Dimensions** Overall: 171 × 241 mm

Name Photograph

## History

Prior to the signing of the Antarctic Treaty in 1959 in Washington D.C. USA, there were twelve countries active in Antarctica - Australia, United States of America, Argentina, Chile, France, New Zealand, Norway, United Kingdom, Belgium, Japan, South Africa and Russia. Since 1959, 41 other countries have acceded to the Treaty. The Treaty and subsequent protocols designates Antarctica as a natural reserve devoted to peace and science. There is an indefinite ban on mining and mineral resource activity in Antarctica. (http://www.antarctica.gov.au/law-and-treaty/history.) (https://www.ats.aq/devAS/ats\_parties.aspx?lang=e) Although the Antarctic had been a source of whaling for Australia, in November 1898 Australia's involvement in Antarctica for scientific research began. Planned by Borchgrevnik and sailing from Hobart on the Southern Cross, the team of seven spent a winter in Antarctica. Further exploration by the early pioneers Scott, Shackleton and Rymill inspired Douglas Mawson to progress the idea of the 1911-14 Australasian Antarctic Expedition (AAE). Scientific discovery was further advanced by the 1929-31 British Australian New Zealand Research Expedition (BANZARE). The success of these expeditions resulted in the Australian Government, after the lobbying of Mawson, forming permanent Australian bases to conduct scientific research. In 1947 the Australian National Antarctic Research Expedition' (ANARE) was formed. In the first season of ANARE, stations were established on Heard Island, in December 1947, and at Macquarie Island, in March 1948 using the naval vessel LST3501. ANARE used the Wyatt Earp and then the Kista Dan to assist its operations. The Antarctic Division itself, the Bureau of Meteorology, the Australian Geological Survey Organisation, the Australian Surveying and Land Information Group and the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO) all contribute to the work of ANARE. http://www. antarctica.gov.au/about-antarctica/history/exploration-and-expeditions/anare-is-created The Australian

Government's Australian Antarctic Division maintains four permanent research stations. Mawson, Davis and Casey are on the Antarctic continent, and Macquarie Island is in the subantarctic. All four stations are occupied year-round by scientists and support staff. The Division also manages other significant areas in the Australian Antarctic Territory, such as Heard and McDonald Islands, Commonwealth Bay and keeps a weather station at Dome A, the highest point in Antarctica. http://www.antarctica.gov.au/living-and-working /stations